You are here:
summit on philanthropy logo

700 Monroe Street
Huntsville, Alabama 35801


Scroll down for event information.

The annual Summit on Philanthropy will be held on Tuesday, October 24, 2023, at the Von Braun Center in Huntsville, Alabama. This event celebrates and inspires local generosity, including honoring the recipients of the Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville’s Community Philanthropy Awards. This award is presented annually to honor an individual or family that exemplifies the spirit of generosity in our community.

The Summit on Philanthropy is an opportunity to celebrate generosity – in all its various forms – and to recognize the very special leaders that have been instrumental in the success of the Community Foundation and the Greater Huntsville area.

– Chris Russell

The 14th annual Summit on Philanthropy will celebrate and inspire local generosity, including honoring the previous recipients of the Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville’s Community Philanthropy Awards, and inducting a new honoree to this guild of givers. This award is presented annually to recognize an individual or family that exemplifies the spirit of generosity in our community.

Community Philanthropy Award

Bill and Brenda Roark

The 2023 Community Philanthropy Award will be presented at the annual Summit on Philanthropy to Bill and Brenda Roark in honor of their generous contributions to the Greater Huntsville community. 

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

The Caring Foundation Of Blue Cross And Blue Shield Of Alabama

Colsa Corporation

Redstone Federal Credit Union

Schrimsher Properties

Torch Technologies

Woody Anderson Ford

Silver Sponsors

Rey And Cynthia Almodóvar

A-p-t Research, Inc.

Cfd Research Corporation

Cintel, Inc.

Crossflow Technologies

First Horizon Advisors

Keel Point

NTA, Inc.

Triple E Fund

Turner Construction

Twickenham Advisors: A Hightower Company

Bronze Sponsors

Joe and Pam Alexander

Anglin Reichmann Armstrong

Avion Solutions

Jay and Penny Billings


Bobby Bradley and Charley Burruss

Bridgeworth Wealth Management


Financial Resources/Gayle Milton CLU ChFC CFP®️ 

Freedom Real Estate & Capital

Drs. James And Violet Gilbert


Clay and Sonda Hagan

Hinson & Hinson, Pc

Honeycomb CPAs & Advisors 

HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology

Huntsville Hospital Foundation

I3 Cares Foundation

Invariant Corporation

IronMountain Solutions

KODA Technologies

Linscomb & Williams

Manna House

Mazda Toyota Manufacturing

Monte Sano Research Corporation

Oakwood University



Robins & Morton

Schoel Engineering



Thompson Gray, Inc.

Troy 7

Warren Averett/Waverly

Interested in Sponsoring?

When you sponsor the Summit on Philanthropy, you are celebrating strategic generosity in our community and the philanthropists behind it. Make an impact by reserving your sponsorship today.

Previous Community Philanthropy Award Recipients

summit on philanthropy russell
summit on philanthropy smith
summit on philanthropy alexander
summit on philanthropy baron
summit on philanthropy chan
summit on philanthropy durboraw
summit on philanthropy fluher
summit on philanthropy hinson
summit on philanthropy lowes


 Individual and Family

  • Joe and Pam Alexander
  • Rey and Cynthia Almodóvar
  • Bob and Phylis Baron
  • Marc and Sheryl Bendickson
  • Kathy and Tony Chan/Pei-Ling Charitable Trust
  • Dorothy Davidson
  • Mike & Theresa Durboraw
  • Fran Fluhler
  • Jim Hudson
  • Alan and Debra Jenkins
  • Mike and Patty Lowe
  • Bob and Cindi Ludwig
  • Lonnie and Helen McMillian and Family
  • Jean McCrady
  • Bill Stender and Family
  • Jan Smith
  • Linda Smith
  • Jean Wessel Templeton and the Wessel Family


  • Rachel Baker
  • Sanders Clayton
  • United Way Youth Council


  • CFD Research
  • COLSA Corporation
  • Dynetics
  • ERC, Inc.
  • Google Fiber
  • Intergraph Corporation
  • Logicore
  • Redstone Federal Credit Union
  • The Boeing Company
  • Torch Technologies
  • Toyota Alabama
  • Vector Wealth Strategies
  • Venturi, Inc.


  • Huntsville Hospital Foundation
  • John and Ruth Jurenko Foundation
  • Jane K. Lowe Charitable Foundation

Professional Advisor

  • Chris Hinson
  • Chris Russell

Unsung Heroes

  • Kingslea Merkel

Partners in Philanthropy Award

  • Dynetics
  • Torch Technologies, Inc.

Chairman’s Award

  • Gary Saliba

If you have a concern about this program, please click here to learn more about the Community Foundation’s conflict resolution process.